Databases

The following is a list of subscription databases and free resources provided and compiled by Briggs Library. Visit our How To guides for assistance on utilizing specific databases.

Enter database keywords in filter results to find the tools most useful to you.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Provides coverage from over 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. Many subjects represented. 1975-Current. 

EBSCO
ELM

Access UN

Index to United Nations documents. Included is the full-text of several thousand UN documents. 1956-Current. 

Readexx

Access World News

Find current and archived newspaper articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text news sources. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 4,700 sources.

NewBank, inc.

ACM Digital Library

Provides bibliographic information, abstracts, index terms, reviews, and the full-text for ACM conference proceedings. 1954-Current. 

Association for Computing Machinery

ACS Web Editions and Archive

ACS Web Editions provides abstracts and full text for journals and magazines from the American Chemical Society and its Archives. All available dates. 

American Chemical Society

Adam Matthew Digital Archives Portal

Primary source material from archives around the world. Includes 25 collections.

Adam Matthew

ADS: Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service

A search interface into the scientific and technical literature covering astronomy, planetary science, physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts only. 1975-Current.

NASA

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural Economics

AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics. 1993-Current.

University of Minnesota Department of Economics and University of Minnesota Libraries with the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association

AGRICOLA

The National Agricultural Library catalog provides citations to agriculture literature. 1979-Current. 

National Agricultural Library

Agriculture and Environmental Science

Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases as well as provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.

ProQuest

Alt HealthWatch

Offers complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness through full-text articles in more than 180 journals and report.

EBSCO
ELM

America: History and Life

Index covering history of the U.S. and Canada from pre-history to the present through 1,700 journals. 1964-Current.

EBSCO

American Indian Histories and Cultures

Spanning four centuries and covering North and Central America, the American Indian Histories and Cultures collection presents unique primary source materials from one of the finest archival collections on American Indian history and culture available.

Adam Matthew

American Poetry Database

Features the work of more than 200 American poets from the colonial period to the early twentieth century.

DLXS (University of Michigan)

American West

Comprised of primary source material such as manuscripts, rare books, maps and ephemeral material from the Everett D.Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, American West explores the westward expansion from the 18th to the 20th century.

Adam Matthew

Annual Reviews

Critical reviews of primary research in the life, physical, social science and biomedical disciplines. Vol. 1 of each title-current.

Anthropology Plus

Offers indexing of journal articles in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology and folklore. Includes Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases. 

EBSCO

Apartheid South Africa

Apartheid South Africa makes primary source materials available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980. Includes letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, and activists’ biographies.

Adam Matthew

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

OCLC

Art Full Text

Full text articles from more than 270 periodicals as far back as 1997. Indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals as far back as 1984. 
Art Index from 1941-1997 is availble in print in Briggs Library general collection:  NX1 .A12

EBSCO

Artstor

Artstor is a nonprofit digital library with a database of more than 2 million high resolution images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences that are available for educational and research purposes. The collections in Artstor have been contributed by several museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Ithaka

arXiv.org e-Print archive

Open access to over a million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. 1980-Current.

Cornell University Library

BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art

Includes citations and abstracts from over 1,200 art journals. Content includes records from RILA. 1975-2000.

J. Paul Getty Trust

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Contains over 141,000 citations for books and journal articles from the U.S. and Canada covering Native American culture and history.

EBSCO

Biological Abstracts

Coverage of meetings and conferences, literature reviews, books and U.S. patents in the biological disciplines. 1980-Current.

Thomson Reuters

BioOne

Access to more than 240 bioscience journals. 1994-Current.

BioOne

BIOSIS Previews

Abstract coverage of over 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from meetings, books review articles and patents. 1993 - Current. 

Clarivate Analytics

Books In Print

Books in Print offers bibliographic information on over 7.5 million in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming book, e-book, audio, and video titles. 

R. R. Bowker

Brill ebooks

Search and browse hundreds of ebooks in subjects such as Asian Studies, Classical Studies, European History, Islamic Studies, Philosophy, and the Social Sciences. 

Brill Online Books and Journals

Britannica Online Academic Edition

The authoritative encyclopedia of world knowledge. Includes over 75,000 articles, including 23,000 biographies.

Britannica
ELM

Business Source Premier

Business Source Complete provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.

EBSCO
ELM

CAMIO

Offers art museum images that are rights-cleared for educational use. 

OCLC
ELM

Chicago Manual of Style Online

The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition online.

University of Chicago Press

Chronicle of Higher Education

Presents news, information, articles and jobs for university professionals.

Chronicle of Higher Education

CIA World Factbook

Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)

ClasePeriodica

An index of Latin American journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Offers access to more than 400,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. 1975-

OCLC
ELM

Columbia Granger World of Poetry

Includes some 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 poetry citations, as well as poet biographies and poetry commentary.

Columbia University Press

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Offers full-text coverage for more than 280 titles plus citation coverage for many more communication and mass media journals.

EBSCO

Consumer Health Complete

Provides full text content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

EBSCO
ELM

CQ Magazine

Provides in-depth reports on congressional issues, plus a complete wrap-up of the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Congressional Quarterly. 1983-

CQ Press

Data Planet

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides access to more than 4.9 billion datasets from over 70 providers that spans a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators.There are over 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. It offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views. Data can be exported into a variety of formats.

Data-Planet

Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference

Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference is designed to allow users to quickly navigate the billions of points of data contained in the 
repository. With Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference, users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels. All of the data are drawn from authoritative sources and are citable. 
Data-Planet

Database of African-American Poetry

Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Chadwyck-Healey

Defining Gender

The Defining Gender collection provides access to a vast body of original British primary source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

Adam Matthew

Dictionary of Old English

Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language, using twenty-first century technology.

University of Toronto

Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus

The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date. As such, the DOE Web Corpus represents over three million words of Old English and fewer than a million words of Latin, or almost five times the collected works of Shakespeare.

University of Toronto

Discovering Collection

Designed for the high school student, Gale's Discovering Collection presents a core collection of essays, reference works, and magazine articles on the subjects of biography, history, science, and social studies.

Gale
ELM

Dissertations & Theses

Includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations. Full text is available for most of the dissertations added since 1997. 

ProQuest

Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800)

Searchable full text that covers every aspect of American life including history, literature, religion and foreign affairs. Contains of a range of publications, including advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, pamphlets, sermons, speeches, textbooks, and more. Part of America's Historical Imprints series from Readex.

Readex

East India Company

East India Company offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing primary source royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.

Adam Matthew

Ebook and Texts Archive

Searchable and downloadable archive containing three million public domain items covering a wide variety including fiction, children's books, historical texts and academic titles.

Internet Archive

Ebook Central (formerly ebrary Academic Complete)

Ebook Central is an ebook site containing thousands of titles in a wide variety of subjects. Books can be read online via the Ebook Central site, or downloaded for 1-2 weeks. Before a full title can be downloaded users must first install Adobe Digital Editions on their computer. Users must also create/sign-in to their ebrary account. 

 

ProQuest

Ebooks Minnesota

A collection of more than 2,500 titles from Minnesota's independent publishers. Subjects include Drama, Fiction, History, Literary Collections, Literary Criticisms, Science, Juvenile Fiction, Juveneile Non-Fiction, and much more.

Minitex and the Minnesota Department of Education, State Library Services
ELM

EBSCO eBook Collection

Nearly 12,000 academic ebooks in a variety of subject areas. Includes ebooks formerly in NetLibrary.

EBSCO
ELM

EBSCO MegaFILE

EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the databases Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News. Provides full text for nearly 12,000 total publications and indexing and abstracting for more than 16,000 publications.

EBSCO
ELM

EBSCOhost EJS

EBSCOhost EJS is an electronic journal host for thousands of journals from hundreds of publishers. The EBSCOhost search engine allows searching for articles from that collection of journals by author, article title and abstract and by full text.

EBSCO

EconLit

Comprehensive index to the world's economic literature from over 700 journals. Includes article and dissertation abstracts, full-text reviews and working papers. 1886-Current.

ProQuest

Economist Historical Archive

Digitized archive (1843-2008) of the weekly economic newspaper.

Gale

Education Full Text

Full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. More than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

EBSCO

Educator's Reference Complete

Provides access to more than 1,100 education periodicals as well as over 200 reports from the U.S. Department of Education.

Gale
ELM

EEBO: Early English Books Online

Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection. 1475-1700.

ProQuest

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

An online full text collection of English and foreign language books, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera published in the U.K. and the Americas between 1701 and 1800.

Gale

Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)

ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles, eBooks (online books), and other information resources. Includes 68 databases.

ELM

Emerald

Provides full text access to 175 management and engineering scholarly journals as well as abstracts in a variety of other subjects.

Emerald Group Publishing Limited

Empire Online

Spanning five centuries, and charting the rise and fall of empires around the world, the Empire Online collection explores colonial history, politics, culture and society through primary source materials.

Adam Matthew

EndNote

EndNote is bibliographic software licensed by the University of Minnesota, Morris Briggs Library for use by current Morris students, staff, and faculty. Use it to organize references and create bibliographies or footnotes from thousands of available styles.

Clarivate Analytics

English Poetry Database

Comprises the works of almost 1,350 poets from 600-1900.

Chadwyck-Healey

English Short Title Catalogue

Bibliographic records for works published between 1473 and 1800, principally in Britain and North America. Predominantly English language. Contains almost 460,000 records representing material held in the British Library as well as other libraries. 

British Library

English Verse Drama

 Contains the full text of over 2200 plays by more than 500 named authors and 300 anonymous works, from the late Thirteenth Century through the end of the Nineteenth Century. 

Chadwyck-Healey

Environment Complete

Contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,350 domestic and international titles covering ecology, energy, natural resources, pollution, environmental law, and more. 1940-Current.

EBSCO

ERIC

Premier national bibliographic database of education literature.

EBSCO
ELM

Ethnic Newswatch

Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. 1960-Current.

ProQuest

European Views of the Americas

A guide to printed records written in Europe about the Americas from 1493-1750.

EBSCO

Expanded Academic ASAP

Offers content from more than 3,500 indexed and full-text titles in all disciplines. 1980-    .

Gale
ELM

Fire Insurance Maps Online (FIMo)

A digital collection of color fire insurance maps, real estate atlases and similar land use maps for the state of Minnesota. Note: Access through 12/4/18.

Historical Information Gatherers

First Monday

Peer-reviewed journal devoted to the Internet.

University of Illinois at Chicago University Library

FirstSearch

Comprises 12 databases.  Coverage varies.

OCLC

Fold3

Search or browse millions of military records and photos.

Fold3 by ancestry

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Collection of 25 online reference books and encyclopedias covering topics from Art to History to Medicine.

Gale
ELM

GenderWatch

 A full-text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1978-    .

ProQuest

General Science Collection

Provides information on all aspects of the scientific world and offers full-text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications. 

Gale
ELM

GeoRef

Covers the geology of North America and the geology of the rest of the world containing over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers and reports. 1693-    (North America) 1933-    (World).

ProQuest

GeoScienceWorld

Offers the full-text of almost 50 geoscience journals. 2000-    .

GeoScienceWorld

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange

Explores the histories of fifteen key commodities that changed the world through a wide range of primary source material such as manuscripts, rare books, maps, advertising memorabilia, paintings, photographs and ephemera.

Adam Matthew

Global Newsstream

Global Newsstream provides global content from over 2,500 sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, and podcasts as far back as the 1980s. Geographical coverage includes the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

ProQuest
ELM

Google Books

Includes access to millions of scanned ebooks, snippets and previews. 

Google

Google Scholar

Searches for scholarly articles, peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. If searching from on-campus click on FindIt to retrieve full-text in a Briggs Library database. 

Google

GPO Monthly Catalog

Official source for government publications. 1994-    .

U.S. Government Publishing Office
ELM

Green Society

This 12-volume series explores all aspects of environmentalism, from energy, business, and food to technology, education, culture, and more.

SAGE Reference Online Titles

GreenFILE

A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.

EBSCO

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)

Source for over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States as well as over 60,000 links to the full text of articles. 1970-    .

UCLA

Hathi Trust Digital Library

Includes over 10 million digitized books (ebooks) of which over a million are in the public domain.

Hathi Trust

Health Source: Consumer Edition

 Provides access to nearly 80 full-text consumer health magazines and nearly 130 health reference books. 

EBSCO
ELM

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

EBSCO
ELM

HealthFinder

Provides a searchable database of reliable online health publications, clearinghouses, websites, self-help groups, government agencies, academic centers, and nonprofit agencies.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts is a bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). 1955-    .

EBSCO

Historical Minneapolis Tribune

>Browseable and searchable full text of historical issues of the Minneapolis Tribune. 1867-1922. 

Minnesota Historical Society
ELM

Historical New York Times

Updated annually. Includes all the articles, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos and advertisements from the New York Times Sept. 18, 1851-Dec. 31, 2011.

ProQuest

Historical Statistics of the United States

The Millennial Edition is the definitive source of statistics and data about the United States and is a key resource for American history research from Colonial times to the present. 1790-2000.

Cambridge University Press

HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies

A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Updated annually. 

Library of Congress

Hoover's Company Profiles

 Provides information on more than 41,000 public and private companies. To access click  the link. You will be taken to Westlaw Classic. 

Westlaw

IBA (International Bibliography of Art)

The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art. Includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute.  2008-Present. 

ProQuest

ICPSR

ICPSR data holdings contain some 6,000 studies and 450,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas. While the database is searchable, most holdings consist of raw data, which can be downloaded. 

University of Michigan

IEEE Xplore

 Provides full-text access to electrical engineering and computer science transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 with select content back to 1950.  

IEEE

India, Raj & Empire

Drawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland the India, Raj & Empire collection will be of great value to all those teaching or researching into the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947. Primary sources include the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras.

Adam Matthew

Informe Academico

Created for Spanish-speaking users, Informe Academico provides citations, images, and full-text articles of popular Hispanic magazines.

Gale
ELM

InfoTrac

Search up to 11 Gale databases simultaneously including Expanded Academic, Computer Database and Informe.  1980-Current. 

ELM

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

 A collection of bibliographic databases, electronic journals and directories pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

University of Toronto

ITIS (Integrated Taxonomic Information System)

Find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. 

JSTOR

Includes the collections of Arts and Science, Biology, Business, Language and Literature, Ireland, Ecology and Music. Content from late 18th Century to the last few years. All full text.

JSTOR

Junior Reference Collection

Designed for elementary and middle school students, provides in-depth full-text coverage of biographies, literature, science, the arts, culture and general reference.

Gale
ELM

Learning Express

An interactive collection of tests, tutorials, and eBooks. Offers a variety of practice exams including college and graduate placement tests (ACT, SAT, GRE, MCAD, LSAT), career preparation exams (GED, EMS, Firefighter, PPST - Praxis, Civil Service, and reading, math and writing skills practice), elementary and high school tests, TOEFL, and U.S. Citizenship Exams. If using the service for the first time, you must register on the site in order to use the database.  Current users sign-in. 

EBSCO
ELM

Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

  Indexes more than 600 periodicals and provides access to the full text of more than 330 journals covering the areas of librarianship and information management.  1960's-Current.

EBSCO
ELM

Literary Manuscripts

Victorian manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of the New York Public Library. The Berg Collection is recognized as one of the finest literary research collections in the world. A broad range of authors from across the nineteenth century make this an essential research tool for all scholars and students researching Victorian literature.

Adam Matthew

Literary Print Culture: the Stationers' Company Archive

Explore this unique archive of primary source material relating to the history of printing, publishing and bookselling dating from 1554 to the 20th century.

Adam Matthew

Literature Criticism Online

Includes ten literature criticism series titles: the short story, poetry, drama, literary criticism by century as well as special genres.

Gale

London Low Life

London Low Life brings to life through primary source materials the teeming streets of Victorian London, inviting students and scholars to explore the gin palaces, brothels and East End slums of the nineteenth century's greatest city.

Adam Matthew

Lynda.com

A library of online training videos that provides access to more than 1,700 courses for all skill levels in more than 140 specialties in computer software applications, programming, photography, animation, and Web design. For current UMM students, faculty, and staff only. Requires x500 login.

lynda.com, Inc.

Making of America: Making of America at Cornell University

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Cornell University

Making of America: Making of America at University of Michigan

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

University of Michigan

Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965

Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era's foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognized 'father' of Motivational Research.

Adam Matthew

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Provides full text for more than 500 popular general interest and current events publications designed for high school students. 

EBSCO
ELM

Mass Observation Online

This resource offers revolutionary access to one of the most important archives for the study of Social History in the modern era. Explore primary source documents such as original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.

Adam Matthew

MasterFILE Premier

Provides full-text for more than 1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals as well as indexing and abstracts for over 2,510 periodicals.

EBSCO
ELM

MathSciNet

Offers full-text of Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present.  

American Mathematical Society

Medical Services and Warfare

Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.

Adam Matthew

MEDLINE

Indexes all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.

OCLC
ELM

MEDLINE: MedLine Plus

This website helps answer health-related questions by bringing together information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other organizations.  

National Library of Medicine and NIH

MEDLINE: PubMed

Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some full-text included. 1966-Present.

National Library of Medicine

Merriam-Webster Online

Free online dictionary, thesaurus, Spanish-English and medical dictionaries with audio pronunciations.

Merriam-Webster, Incorporated

Middle English Compendium

The Middle English Compendium includes three major Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.

University of Michigan

Middle Search Plus

Contains full-text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines.

EBSCO

Migration to New Worlds

From 1800 to 1980, Migration to New Worlds charts the movement of people throughout the 'Century of Immigration', through the First and Second World Wars and into the modern era. Late eighteenth-century primary source documents also provide context on the early stages of migration. From government-led population drives during the early nineteenth century to mass steamship travel, Migration to New Worlds showcases the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration.

Includes The Century of Immigration and The Modern Era modules.

Adam Matthew

Minneapolis Newspaper Index

Search indexes created for the Minnesota Daily (1900-1922, 1963-1977), Minneapolis Tribune (1940-1945, 1950-1954) and Minneapolis Star (1964-1970).

University of Minnesota

Minnesota Magazine Index

An index of articles on local and statewide politics, news, current events, history and the arts that appeared in nine Minnesota magazines. 1991-2005.

Hennepin County Library

MLA Directory of Periodicals

Contains information on the journals and series that are covered in the MLA International Bibliography database. Over 4,400 periodical titles are currently indexed.

EBSCO

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series, and 1,000 book publishers. 1963-    .

EBSCO

National Center For Education Statistics

Statistics and full-text analytical publications from NCES, the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Institute of Education Sciences and the U.S. Department of Education

National Historical Geographic Information System

 Aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010. 

Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota

Nature

 Encompasses 166 publications including the weekly international journal of Nature. 1869-Current.

Nature Publishing Group

Naxos Music Library

More than 80,000 cd-length recordings and 1,200,000 individual tracks covering classical as well as jazz, world, nostalgia and classic rock music. It also includes libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas as well as more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies. 

Note: This database has a 7 simultaneous user limit. If you are unable to access please try again later. Remember to logout when finished.

Naxos Digital Services

NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research)

Includes access to the full-text of National Bureau of Economic Research working papers going back to November, 1994.

National Bureau of Economic Research

NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database

Contains summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.  

National Institute of Justice

New York Times

Current New York Times. June 1, 1980-Current. 

ProQuest
ELM

Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers

The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains the full text of 71 national and regional newspapers. 1800-1860. 

Gale

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

 Provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900.

Gale

OAISter

Contains digital resources from open archive collections that cover multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide.

OCLC
ELM

OAPEN Online Library

OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) is a collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic ebooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Online Books Page

Provides access to over a million ebooks that are freely readable over the Internet.

University of Pennsylvania

ORL Cinema

Nearly 200 streamable movies in a variety of genres including Action, Comedy, Romance, Drama, Horror, Fantasy, and Science Fiction.  On-Campus access only.

Swank.com

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Bibliographic topic guides to selected resources in Islamic Studies. Provides an introduction to the specialized literature on major and minor topics within Islamic Studies.

Oxford University Press

Oxford English Dictionary

The OED is the definitive historical dictionary of the English language. Includes English language words from 1150 CE to the present day. 

Oxford University Press

Oxford Music Online

 Includes content from the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Oxford University Press

PAIS Index

An index to the world's public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations and finance. 1972-    .

ProQuest

Patents

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

Patrologia Latina Database

Contains a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).

University of Michigan

Perdita Manuscripts

"Perdita" means "lost woman" and the quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were "lost" because their writing exists only in manuscript form. The primary source manuscripts in the site were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries and they have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA.

Adam Matthew

Philosopher's Index

Indexes philosophy articles from more than 1,100 scholarly journals and magazines. 1940- Current.

ProQuest

PILOTS

Covers scholarly literature on post-traumatic stress disorder as well as other mental health areas affected by traumatic events.  1871-Current. 

ProQuest

Pivot

 Pivot gives Research Administrators, Research Development Professionals, and their institutions the edge to bring together the right research opportunities, funding, and people quickly and easily. 

ProQuest

Plant Information Online

Includes current sources in North American nurseries for over 70,000 plants over 200,000 citations to current plant science literature, listings for more than 1300 North American seed and nursery firms.

University of Minnesota Libraries

Plant Management Network

A cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Offers an extensive searchable database comprised of thousands of web-based resource pages from the network's partner universities, companies, and associations.  

Plant Management Network

PLoS (Public Library of Science)

The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. Includes seven open access journals.  2003-Current. 

PLoS

Points of View Reference Center

Provides high school students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint, and Critical Thinking Guide. 

EBSCO
ELM

Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900

Popular Medicine in America documents the history of 'popular' remedies and treatments in nineteenth century America, through primary source materials drawn from the extensive collections at the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

Adam Matthew

Primary Search

Contains the full-text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines as well as many primary documents.

EBSCO
ELM

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS)

PNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Established in 1915, it publishes research reports, commentaries and reviews in the biological, physical, and social sciences.  1990-Current.

National Academy of Sciences

ProceedingsFirst

ProceedingsFirst offers tables of contents from worldwide conferences, professional meetings and symposia. It lists papers presented at those meetings and provides an overview of the activities at such meetings.  1993-    .

OCLC
ELM

Professional Collection

Includes abstracts and full-text for more than 300 education journals.

Gale
ELM

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, provides a collection of over 500 full-text education journals (approximately 350 are peer-reviewed), over 200 educational reports, primarily from the U.S. Department of Education. 1965-Current.

EBSCO
ELM

Project MUSE

Provides full-text access to more than 320 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities social sciences and mathematics. Coverage varies.1990-Current.

John's Hopkins University Press.

PROLA

American Physical Society 1893-Current.

ProQuest Databases

Portal to the suite of ProQuest databases including PyscINFO, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, International Bibliography of Art and Dissertations & Theses.

ProQuest

ProQuest News & Newspapers

Offers access to 15 newspaper publications including the New York Times, St. Paul Pioneer Press, and Star Tribune as well as a variety of historical newspaper content sources such as the Chicago Tribune, the Washington Post, and the Christian Science Monitor. Also included are Ethnic NewsWatch and GenderWatch.

ProQuest

PsycARTICLES

Definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 140,000 articles from over 60 journals published by the APA and other organizations. 1894-Current.

ProQuest

PsycINFO

Covers all areas of psychology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. 1806-Current.

ProQuest

PubChem

Contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities.

National Institute of Health

PubMed

Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. 1966-Current.

National Library of Medicine

Race Relations in America

Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this primary source resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department's staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

Adam Matthew

Regional Business News

Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating 75 business news magazines, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.  Some coverage from 1993 onwards.

EBSCO
ELM

Science

Includes full-text content from the serials Science, Science Signaling and Science Translational Medicine.  October 6 1997-Current. 

AAAS

Science Citation Index Expanded

An international, multidisciplinary index to the literature of science, technology, and biomedicine. Over 4,000 journals representing all scientific disciplines are indexed. 2002-Current.

Thomson Reuters

Science Direct

Offers science, medical, technical as well as social science and humanities journal and ebook chapter content. 1998-Current.

Elsevier

Science Reference Center

A comprehensive research database that provides access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content from nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and biographies.

EBSCO
ELM

SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder provides access to the CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases covering the chemical literature, chemical substances and reactions, chemical catalogs and regulatory information, as well as the Medline database. Includes more than 33 million references, 60 million substances, and 30 million reactions that are searchable.  Note: First time users must first register with SciFinder.  1907-Current. 

American Chemical Society

Scopus

Over 4.6 million science abstracts and social science citations from journal and conference proceedings. Social science and humanities titles also included.

Elsevier

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection

A full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. 1757-1817.

Gale

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice

This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together primary source documents and collections covering an extensive time period, between 1490 and 2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

Adam Matthew

Social Sciences Citation Index

Bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from over 1,700 social sciences journals as well as 3,300 science and technology journals. Full text is not available. 2002-Current.

Thomson Reuters

Social Sciences Full Text

  Includes more than 350 key international, English-language social science periodicals. Indexing of periodicals provided from 1983-current, full text coverage starting 1995.

EBSCO

Social Services Abstracts

Indexes and abstracts current research in social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. 1980-Current.

ProQuest

Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda

Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), this collection of documentary, newsreel and feature films reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers. Ranging from the early 20th century to the 1980s, material encapsulates the themes of war, revolution, news, current affairs, culture and society.

Adam Matthew

Sociological Abstracts

 Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  1963-Current.

ProQuest

SPORTDiscus

Bibliographic coverage of sports-related subjects. Includes 1.7 million records going back to 1800.

EBSCO

SpringerLink

Full-text database for journals and books published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers over 2,450 fully peer-reviewed journals in a variety of subject areas and more than 25,000 ebooks online.

Springer

St. Paul Pioneer Press

Full text of the newspaper St. Paul Pioneer Press. 2010-Current.

ProQuest

Standard & Poors NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

Standard & Poor's

Star Tribune

Minneapolis StarTribune, Minneapolis MN.1986 - current.

ProQuest
ELM

Student Resources in Context

Comprised of reference works, periodicals, academic journals, primary sources and multi-media designed to meet the research needs of high school students. 

Gale
ELM

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.  

EBSCO

The First World War

The First World War portal showcases a wealth of primary source material for the study of the Great War, complemented by a range of contextual secondary features. Includes the three modules: Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, and Visual Perspectives and Narratives.

Adam Matthew

The Grand Tour

This primary source collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including including letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps. These accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy.

Adam Matthew

Times Digital Archive

Digital Archive of The Times of London newspaper. 1785-1985.

Gale

Transportation Research Record

Journal of the Transportation Research Board. 1996-Current. 

Transportation Research Board of the National Academies

Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History Collection

This resource brings together hundreds of primary source accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Students and researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war.

Adam Matthew

TRID (the TRIS & ITRD Database)

 TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide. 

Transportation Research Board

U.S. Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand)

US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent U.S. content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. 1980- (varies by title).

ProQuest
ELM

Umbra

A free digital platform that offers over 400,000 digital items documenting African American history and culture from over 500 institutions.

University of Minnesota Libraries, Penumbra Theatre Company, and the Institute of Museum and Library Services

UMM Digital Collections

Historical and current images of the University of Minnesota Morris.

UMM Digital Well

Repository of scholarly, creative works and campus governance documents at the University of Minnesota, Morris.

Victorian Popular Culture

Victorian Popular Culture is a primary source portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist séances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures.

Includes the modules Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, THeatre and Popular Entertainmnet and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.

Adam Matthew

Web of Science

Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (2006-Current), Science Citation Index Expanded (2002-Current) and Social Sciences Citation Index (2002-Current).

Clarivate Analytics

Westlaw Campus Research

Westlaw Campus Research provides access to federal and state case law statutes regulations law reviews and journals American Law Reports, and the American Jurisprudence 2nd Ed. legal encyclopedia.  This resource also provides access to more than 4,900 news and business information publications. 

Thomson Reuters

Wikipedia

A free encyclopedia that anyone can edit.

Wikimedia Foundation

Wiley Online Library

 A multi-disciplinary database that includes full-text journal articles and ebook content as well as abstracts of additional journal articles and reference sources. The sciences have particular emphasis.  

John Wiley & Sons

WolframAlpha

A computational knowledge engine or answer engine developed by Wolfram Research. It seeks to answer factual queries directly by computing the answer from externally sourced "curated data", rather than providing a list of documents or web pages that might contain the answer as a search engine might.

Wolfram

World News Digest

World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.

Infobase

World Shakespeare Bibliography

A searchable database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and today. Contains over 132,640 annotated entries.

John Hopkins University Press

World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions

Explore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos. Through official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, this primary source brings together multiple archives for rich research opportunities in this diverse topic.

Adam Matthew

WorldCat

WorldCat searches over 10,000 library catalogs worldwide containing more than 1.5 billion items. 1000 AD-Current.

OCLC
ELM

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science as well as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public administration/policy. 1975-Current, ProQuest.